Our commitment to nature in Corsica

We must act and limit our impact on the environment and preserve our unique island

Since its creation, the Santa Giulia Palace is committed to the preservation of the environment of the island by favouring local production, the efficient management of resources, the use of non-aggressive products and the daily maintenance of a 10-hectare park full of endemic species open to visitors.

The Rispettu label is a conscientious approach for Corsica and its sustainable development

In 2017, we have strengthened our commitment to nature and its sustainable development by receiving the Rispettu label, with the highest rating in Corsica.  This label rewards the actions carried out by the Residence in the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, water consumption, the management of waste and the consumption of local and organic products.

Fruit of a conscientious approach built on the duration, the label Rispettu marks a new step in our commitment to our employees, customers, and partners, ensuring the establishment of concrete actions within our institution, such as an optimized use of water and energy resources or the establishment of a breakfast offer totally consisting of local and seasonal products.

Our on-going commitments

  • Use of biological cleaning products
  • Solar panels for hot water system heating for the renovated lodgings
  • Effective water consumption management by installing foam systems and double debit toilet
  • Watering of greenery ensured by ¼ usage of two wells
  • Optimization of the quantities with the use of reusable containers
  • Good use of energy thanks to 98% LED lighting
  • Use of local and seasonal products for our breakfast offer
  • Electric vehicle fleet for the Residence

From 2018 onwards, new actions will complete the current commitments

  • Reduction in water flow rate, easy and fast to implement
  • Generalization of solar panel for the hot water system
  • Simple and profitable action for air-conditioning temperature control in the rooms
  • Implementation of refrigerators controlled by the occupation rate at the beginning and the end of the season
  • Increase of the eco-labelled products or biological agriculture
  • Diversification of our seasonal fruits offer and limitation of our consumption of oranges (high water consumption) with local and organic smoothies
  • Partial replacement of bottled water by home-made flavoured water
  • Installation of solar panels in the rest of the lodgings
  • Awaken the clients awareness on the impact of household linens cleaning in the rooms

Since 2018, we have also chosen to participate in joint reflection with the young company AVVENA, on future initiatives to implement the mitigation and adaptation to climate change in Corsica.

Our Island is our most valuable asset and we strive on a daily basis to enhance the respect of the environment and the nature that surrounds us. By choosing to register in a responsible vision and the sustainable development of our business, we are acting to ensure consistency year after year in the quality of our services and a better future for the Corsica.

The Rispettu Label

Launched in 2016 by the Corsican UMIH (Hotel Trade and Industry Union), the Rispettu project has the mission to reduce the environmental impact of hotels in Corsica. Led by several consultants in partnership with the EVEA tourism (Environmental Assessment), the Corsican ADEME (Environment and Energy Management Agency) and the OEC (Corsican Environment Office), the Rispettu approach is based on a detailed analysis of hotels according to several environmental and economic indicators followed by the deployment of a plan of action that is appropriate to reduce, to the maximum, the greenhouse gas emissions of the hotels as well as their consumption of water, energy and the quantity of generated waste.

 

Etiquette Santa Giulia Palace

Notre engagement pour la nature Corse

Agir pour limiter notre impact sur l’environnement et préserver une île unique au monde

Depuis sa création, le Santa Giulia Palace s’engage pour la préservation de l’environnement insulaire en favorisant la production locale, une gestion efficace des ressources, l’emploi de produits non agressifs pour la nature et l’entretien quotidien d’un parc de 10 hectares d’espèces endémiques ouvert aux visiteurs.

Le label Rispettu, une démarche consciencieuse pour la Corse et le développement durable

En 2017, nous avons renforcé notre engagement pour la nature et le développement durable en recevant avec la plus haute note de Corse le label Rispettu qui récompense les actions menées par la résidence dans la réduction des gaz à effet de serre, la consommation de l’eau, la gestion des déchets et la consommation de produits locaux et bio.

Fruit d’une démarche consciencieuse bâtie sur la durée, le label Rispettu marque une nouvelle étape dans notre engagement envers nos collaborateurs, clients, et partenaires, garantissant la mise en place d’actions concrètes au sein de notre établissement, telles qu’une utilisation optimisée des ressources en eau et en énergie ou la mise en place d’une offre petit déjeuner constituée majoritairement de produits locaux et saisonniers

Nos engagements sur place

  • Utilisation de produits d’entretien d’origine biologique
  • Chauffage de l’eau chaude sanitaire via panneaux solaires pour les logements rénovés
  • Gestion efficace de la consommation d’eau avec l’installation de mousseurs et de WC double débit
  • Arrosage des espaces verts assuré à ¼ par deux puits
  • Optimisation des quantités avec l’utilisation de contenants réutilisables
  • Bonne utilisation de l’énergie grâce à un éclairage constitué de LED à 98%
  • Utilisation de produits locaux et saisonniers pour notre offre petit déjeuner
  • Flotte de véhicules électriques pour l’établissement

Dès 2018, de nouvelles actions viendront compléter la démarche en cours

  • Réduction des débits d’eau, point facile et rapide à mettre en place
  • Généralisation de l’eau chaude sanitaire solaire
  • Actions simples et rentables sur le réglage des températures sur les climatisations en chambres
  • Mise en marche des réfrigérateurs contrôlée en fonction du taux d’occupation en début et fin de saison
  • Favorisation des produits écolabellisés ou d’agriculture biologique
  • Diversifier notre offre de fruits de saison et limiter notre consommation d’oranges acquavores (smoothies locaux et biologiques)
  • Remplacement d’une partie de l’eau en bouteille par des eaux aromatisées maison
  • Installation de panneaux solaires sur le reste des logements pour l’eau chaude sanitaire
  • Sensibilisation de la clientèle sur l’impact du nettoyage du linge en chambre

Depuis 2018, nous avons également choisi de prendre part à une démarche de réflexion commune avec la jeune entreprise Avvena sur les initiatives futures à implémenter en Corse pour l’atténuation et l’adaptation face au changement climatique en cours.

Notre île est notre bien le plus précieux et nous nous efforçons de la valoriser au quotidien dans le respect de l’environnement et de la nature qui nous entoure. En choisissant de nous inscrire dans une vision responsable et durable de notre métier, nous agissons pour garantir années après années, une constance dans la qualité de nos prestations et un meilleur futur pour la Corse.

Le label Rispettu

Lancé en 2016 par l’UMIH Corse (Union des Métiers et des Industries de l’Hôtellerie), le projet Rispettu a pour mission de réduire l’impact environnemental des hôtels en Corse. Mené par plusieurs consultants en partenariat avec EVEA tourisme, l’ADEME Corse et l’OEC (Office de l’Environnement de la Corse), la démarche Rispettu repose sur une analyse détaillée des établissements hôteliers selon plusieurs indicateurs environnementaux et économiques, suivie du déploiement d’un plan d’action adapté permettant de réduire au maximum les émissions de gaz à effet de serre de l’hôtellerie ainsi que leurs consommations d’eau, d’énergie et la quantité de déchets émis.

 

Etiquette Santa Giulia Palace